Gossip Rocks.com

Welcome to Gossip Rocks!

Emily Haines

Real name:
Birthdate: N/A
Status: Single

Image Gallery


She has contributed backing vocals to albums by other Broken Social Scene members, such as Jason Collett and Kevin Drew.

Emily is a daughter of Canadian poet Paul Haines and sister of Canadian television journalist Avery Haines. Her brother is Tim Haines, owner of Bluestreak Records in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada. She was born in New Delhi, India, and raised in Canada. After settling in Peterborough at the age of three, she grew up in a house rich with experimental art and musical expression. Paul would often make cassettes of rare and eclectic music for his daughter to listen to and her early influences included Carla Bley, Robert Wyatt, and later PJ Harvey. By her teens she followed her parents' footsteps by attending the Etobicoke School of the Arts. There she met Amy Millan and Kevin Drew, with whom she would later collaborate in songs for Broken Social Scene and Stars.

Haines and Millan briefly formed their first band around 1990 while at ESA, and with songs later written and recorded while at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver in 1992–1993, at Toronto in 1995, and at Concordia University in Montreal in 1995–1996, Haines distributed in 1996 an early effort with a limited number of copies.

Haines has also ventured out into a small solo career, releasing two albums, Cut in Half and Also Double and Knives Don't Have Your Back while occasionally playing a limited number of shows with Amy Millan as the opener. Haines' act consisted of just herself (blindfolded), and a piano. There are numerous leaks of some of the shows hovering around the internet. Her band Metric's most recently released album, though produced and recorded before their official debut album, is entitled Grow Up and Blow Away.

On her official website, Haines announces the release of the next album by Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton titled What Is Free to a Good Home?. It was released by Last Gang Records simultaneously in the U.S. and the UK on July 24, 2007. A sample of a song, titled "Rowboat" from the album was released by Pitchfork Media online.

Haines also appeared in the 2004 drama film Clean. She and her band, Metric, appearing as themselves, performed their song "Dead Disco" and then went backstage for a small speaking role.

The following songs are credited with Emily Haines on either lead or backing vocals.
- Broken Social Scene – "Looks Just Like the Sun", "Anthems for a Seventeen-Year-Old Girl", "Backyards", "Her Disappearing Theme", "Swimmers"
- Delerium – "Stopwatch Hearts"
- Jason Collett – "Fire", "Hangover Days" (Emily is actually in the video edit of the song "fire". The album version credits the female backing vocals to Amy Millan)
- KC Accidental – "Them (Pop Song #3333)"
- Stars – "Going, Going, Gone", "On Peak Hill", "Romantic Comedy", "Your Ex-Lover Is Dead"
- The Stills – "Baby Blues"
- Clean Original Soundtrack – "Dead Disco" (Metric)


© 2007 Gossip Rocks : This site best viewed in Firefox.