Gossip Rocks.com

Welcome to Gossip Rocks!


Real name: Wayne Static, Ken Jay, Tony Campos, Tripp Rex Eisen
Birthdate: 2000
Status: N/A
Partner: N/A

Image Gallery

Click here for more images!


Static-X is an industrial metal band from Los Angeles, California, USA. Formed in 1994, they are signed to Warner Bros. Records and have released five albums, their most recent being Cannibal, which was released on April 3, 2007.

Static-X has released five studio albums, one compilation album, one EP, twelve singles and twelve videos. They recorded a DVD entitled Where the Hell Are We and What Day Is It... This Is Static-X, but it was never released due to a threatened lawsuit by Sharon Osbourne over tracks recorded at Ozzfest.

Static-X was formed in 1994 from the ashes of Wayne Static and Ken Jay's former band, Deep Blue Dream. Wayne and Ken originally met at the Chicago record store where Jay worked and were introduced to one another by Smashing Pumpkins vocalist Billy Corgan (the band also shared a rehearsal space with Smashing Pumpkins for a time). Once Deep Blue Dream folded, Static and Jay moved to Los Angeles to search for new band members. There, they met bassist Tony Campos and guitarist Koichi Fukuda, completing the band's original lineup.

Static-X signed with Warner Bros. Records in early 1998, and released their debut album, Wisconsin Death Trip, on March 23, 1999. Soon after, they released their first single "Push It", followed by "I'm with Stupid" and "Bled for Days" in 2000. Static-X toured strictly in support of the album and twice performed on Ozzfest. In the following year the little-known EP, The Death Trip Continues, was released. In 2001, Wisconsin Death Trip went platinum and is, to date, Static-X's only album to reach this success.

After recording their follow-up album Machine, Koichi Fukuda left the band to spend time with his family and pursue other musical opportunities. As Fukuda's replacement, former Dope member Tripp Eisen stepped in. Machine was released May 22, 2001 to major success, and shortly after, Static-X began work on their third album, Shadow Zone, this time with Eisen performing and writing on the album. However, before they could start recording, Ken Jay left the band due to musical and political differences. To drum on the album, Josh Freese of A Perfect Circle and The Vandals was brought in. Later, Nick Oshiro, formerly of Seether, was selected as Jay's replacement and the band's permanent drummer.

A promotional Cannibal EP has also been released. The EP contains album versions of "Cannibal," "No Submission" and a radio edit version of "Forty Ways". On March 20 the upcoming album was preceded with an exclusive Destroyer EP. The video for "Destroyer" has also been produced and is available now at headbangersball.com. The album itself debuted at #36 in the U.S. with sales of over 30,000.

The band will start recording new album after returning from Australian tour with Megadeth, Devildriver and Lacuna Coil.

There is a version of the title "Otsego" on the first four albums: "Otsegolation", "Otsego Undead", "Otsegolectric" and "Otsego Amigo". The track "Otsego Undead" is misspelled on the Dracula 2000 soundtrack, and was printed as "Ostego Undead". An explanation for the "Otsego" tracks was given in a 2003 interview with Metal Edge Magazine, where Wayne Static said:“Otsego is a town near where I went to college at Michigan (Western Michigan University in Kalamazoo), and it was kind of a depressing, small town. There was a guy named Dean there, and I had his fake ID.”


© 2007 Gossip Rocks : This site best viewed in Firefox.