Gossip Rocks.com

Welcome to Gossip Rocks!

Paul Oakenfold

Real name: Paul Oakenfold
Birthdate: N/A
Status: Single

Image Gallery


Paul Oakenfold (born August 30, 1963 in Greenhithe, Kent England) is a record producer and one of the best-known Trance DJs worldwide.

In 1997, Oakenfold mixed one disc of the double album Fantazia House Collection 6, a UK House music compilation series that had been massively successful at the time. He brought his distinctive style to the mix.

In 2002, Q magazine named Oakenfold in their list of the "50 Bands To See Before You Die". In the same year, Oakenfold released his first solo album, called Bunkka featuring artists like Nelly Furtado, Tricky ("The Harder They Come"), the world-renowned Pakistani musician Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan ("Zoo York"), Ice Cube ("Get Em Up"), and Shifty Shellshock, then the lead singer of Crazy Town ("Starry Eyed Surprise"). His latest effort is 2006's A Lively Mind.

'A Lively Mind' was released on June 6, 2006. The first single 'Faster Kill Pussycat' is a collaboration with the actress Brittany Murphy, and was released on May 2, 2006. Oakenfold's 2006 CD was released by Maverick Records.

His name is also associated with a song called "see it", featured in the second stage of "Frequency", a game for the PS2. The game was released November 20, 2001, though the song itself is very inconspicuous and is rarely, if at all, mentioned of; it also does not seem to be on any of his albums.

Oakenfold is known to have struggled with dyslexia as a child and has stated his intention to help dyslexic children.

as part of the 'Balearic House' group 'Electra'
- "Jibaro" (FFRR Records - 1988) # 54 UK
- "It's Your Destiny" / "Autumn Love" (FFRR Records - 1989) # 51 UK

as Paul Oakenfold presents Afrika Bambaataa and the Soulsonic Force:
- "Planet Rock" (Tommy Boy Records - 2001) # 47 UK, #21 US Hot Dance Music/Club Play

as Oakenfold:
- "Southern Sun" / "Ready Steady Go" (Perfecto Records - 2002) # 16 UK, #9 US Hot Dance Music/Club Play

as Oakenfold with vocals by Shifty Shellshock Of Crazy Town
- "Starry Eyed Surprise" (Perfecto Records - 2002) # 6 UK, US: #10 Hot Dance Music/Club Play, #41 Billboard Hot 100, #13 Top 40 Mainstream

as Oakenfold with vocals by Nelly Furtado and Tricky
- "The Harder They Come" (Perfecto Records - 2003) # 38 UK

as Oakenfold ft Brittany Murphy
- "Faster Kill Pussycat" (Perfecto Records - 2006) #7 UK, #44 AUS, #4 US Hot Dance Music/Club Play

as Grace:
- "Not Over Yet" (Perfecto - 1995) # 6 UK, #4 IE
- "I Want To Live" (Perfecto - 1995) # 30 UK
- "Skin on Skin" (Perfecto - 1996) #21 UK
- "Down to Earth" (Perfecto - 1996) #20 UK
- "If I Could Fly" (Perfecto - 1996) #29 UK
- "Hand in Hand" (Perfecto - 1997) #38 UK
- "Down To Earth Remix" (Perfecto - 1997) #29 UK

Mix Albums: Journeys by Stadium DJ · A Voyage Into Trance · Perfecto Fluoro · Global Underground 004: Oslo · Global Underground 007: New York · Tranceport · Resident. Two Years of Oakenfold at Cream · Essential Millennium with Pete Tong & Fatboy Slim · Perfecto Presents: Another World · Perfecto Presents: Travelling · Perfecto Presents: Ibiza · Perfecto Presents: Great Wall · Creamfields · Perfecto Presents: The Club


© 2007 Gossip Rocks : This site best viewed in Firefox.