Gossip Rocks.com

Welcome to Gossip Rocks!

Liberty X

Real name:
Birthdate: N/A
Status: Single

Image Gallery


Liberty X (originally called Liberty) was a pop vocal group formed from five contestants from the 2001 ITV show Popstars. The group consists of Tony Lundon, Kevin Simm, Michelle Heaton, Kelli Young and Jessica Taylor. They are perhaps best known for their UK number one single 'Just A Little', which was also their biggest hit worldwide. The band went on to achieve 10 consecutive UK Top 20 singles. Their 11th and final UK single 'X' failed to reach the UK Top 40, stalling at number 47. Few of their singles made much of an impact on international charts.

Following a short break, the group released "Being Nobody", a mash-up of Chaka Khan's "Ain't Nobody" and Human League's "Being Boiled". The single was produced by Richard X and released under the name of Richard X vs Liberty X. The track followed the momentum caused by Richard X's other mainstream production, Freak Like Me for the Sugababes, which topped the charts the previous year. Both tracks featured on Richard X's album Richard X Presents His X-Factor Vol. 1. Despite the bands love for "Freak Like Me" the guys never thought of finding the mastermind behind the track but they were approached by Richard X who asked if they wanted to collaborate. The band had just finished a sell-out tour when the single was to be released. "Being Nobody" reached number three in the UK singles chart. Proceeding their second album, Being Somebody, the group released "Jumpin", which only managed to peak at number 6 and spent just 4 weeks on the UK Top 40 chart. 'Jumpin' was co-written by UK singer-songwriter, Lucie Silvas. 'Being Somebody' was released on 3rd November 2003, debuting at number 12 on the UK album chart, but fell to number 27 the following week. The album sold around 200,000 copies, significantly lower then sales of their debut. The album received a lot of criticism from fans for containing too many emotional ballads, distancing themselves from their initial R&B sound. The group released the albums final single 'Everybody Cries' in January 2004. The music video saw the band walking along disused railway lines, which they were criticised for by safety organisations. The single missed the UK Top 10, reaching a disappointing number 13, and spent just 3 weeks on the UK Top 40. The group took a hiatus following record label issues and each member decided to work on different individual projects. Kevin Simm appeared on Channel 4's The Games, competing in a series of sporting events (in which he placed second overall, behind Philip Oliver). Michelle Heaton appeared on ITV's ill-fated "Celebrity Wrestling". Jessica Taylor appeared on the BBC's "Come Ice Skating." Tony Lundon and Kelli Young took the time to work on new tracks for the band's third album, whilst both contributing on other artists album in both producing and writing. Tony featured on D-Side's debut album, writing and featuring on a song entitled "Fix You" and Kelli collaborated with Billy Crawford on a track on his album "Big City" called Go, Go. This track has now gone on to be sampled by Jamelia for a song that was not used for her latest album Walk With Me. During this period, The Sun newspaper reported that the group were to re-release 'Being Somebody', and was to feature a cover of the 1990 hit 'Back To Life', however this failed to materialise. They also released a cover version of 'Fresh' which was released in a selection of European countries, but not the United Kingdom. It peaked at number 35 on the French music charts.


© 2007 Gossip Rocks : This site best viewed in Firefox.