Thread: 11 Burning Questions with Bill Maher

Hit By Ban Bus! AliceInWonderland's Avatar

Red face 11 Burning Questions with Bill Maher

11 Burning Questions with Bill Maher
    This issue, News Editor Lorraine Chow finds out why Bill Maher supports the legalization of marijuana, why he's on the Catholic League's special list and more.
    Lorraine Chow
    Issue date: 2/4/08 Section: News

1. As our First Amendment Week speaker, how important is the First Amendment to you?

Well to me, it's everything because I make my living not only speaking publicly, but speaking out publicly. I don't know any American who wouldn't pay homage to the First Amendment. It's been my life.

2. There was a statement made by Ari Fleisher, who was the former White House press secretary, in regards to your 9/11 comment on "Politically Incorrect" that said, "They're reminders to all Americans that they need to watch what they say, watch what they do. This is not a time for remarks like that." Would you say his comment is the antithesis to free speech?

Yes, but I think he also needs to be given the latitude that we all want from the First Amendment, which is the right to misspeak. I don't really think he really meant that to be as ominous sounding as it came out.

3. Is there anyone in the public eye who should have his or her First Amendment right revoked?

[Laughs] No, of course not. There's no such thing. We can't revoke that right for anyone. As anyone with an education above the sixth-grade level has already learned, the important part of the First Amendment is to defend the speech we don't like. Anyone can defend speech they like. It's the unpopular speech that needs an advocate.

4. Why do you think pot should be legalized?