Like Tree7Likes
  • 4 Post By twitchy2.0
  • 1 Post By Trixie
  • 1 Post By whitetigeress
  • 1 Post By Sassiness

Thread: Indiana Animal Shelter Enlists Help of Pokemon Go Players to Walk Dogs

Default Indiana Animal Shelter Enlists Help of Pokemon Go Players to Walk Dogs

Indiana Animal Shelter Enlists Help of Pokemon Go Players to Walk Dogs

Jul 13, 2016, 12:47 PM ET

Muncie Animal Shelter

An animal shelter in Muncie, Indiana, is enlisting "Pokemon Go" players to help walk the shelter's dogs as they train, battle and hunt for Pokemon.
    The Muncie Indiana Shelter started the volunteer program "Pokemon Dogs" on Tuesday morning, according to the shelter's director, Phil Peckinpaugh. He told ABC News today he was inspired by his 6-year-old daughter, Ruthie, and his 7-year-old nephew, who got them to start playing the game.

"I started playing with Ruthie, and it was actually pretty fun," he said. "Then the other day, while on my way to work, I noticed droves of young people walking around playing this game. I thought, 'Wouldn't it be great if all those people were walking with our dogs?'"
    So Peckinpaugh got to work and whipped up a digital flyer featuring a cute Cubone and Growlithe -- two types of Pokemon. He posted it to the shelter's Facebook, and since then, the advertisement has received over 15,000 shares and 5,000 reactions.

Muncie Animal Shelter

The Muncie Animal Shelter started a volunteer program on July 12, 2016, calling for Pokemon Go players to help walk the shelter's dogs. more +
    Dozens of players have already come by to pick up a dog, Peckinpaugh added.

"There's been an incredible response, and it's just kind of taken off," he said. "We even had to go and buy more leashes this morning."
    The animal shelter has even received attention from Pokemon Go players across the nation and the globe, including this lad from the U.K. who tweeted, "MATE. Someone get me to Muncie, Indiana now please. Walking dogs AND Pokemon GO? Sign me up."