Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bootlegs

Default Bootlegs

I don't know why I've never started a thread on this. I'm just wondering if there are any bootleg collectors out there. For those who might not know what they are, bootlegs are unofficial releases or recordings of live shows, studio outtakes, demos.. basically anything that wasn't directly released by a band or their record label. I've been collecting them for about two years now.. I have a few on vinyl but most of them are on my hard drive.

I don't know if there are many classic rock fans here, but I thought I would share some links to my favorites with you:

This is a Pink Floyd bootleg of their Oakland show in 1977. Mostly stuff from "Animals".. 'Dogs' is particularly ridiculous.

This is a cluster of files from Led Zeppelin's show at Earl's Court on May 25th, 1975. 'No Quarter' is 26 minutes long and, jesus christ, it's amazing.

And this is part of a 1975 Black Sabbath bootleg where they performed in NJ. This particular song is 'Sabbra Cadabra' and a really amazing instrumental jam and drum solo.

Just thought I'd share. I uploaded these all myself so there's no virus stuff to worry about.

i used to buy bootlegs as a teen, mostly live shows of bands i was into (the cure, etc) but then i became a stickler for sound quality and except for some exceptions - particularly beautiful songs or the odd good quality recording, i've given up on them. except for dylan demos and outtakes (basement tapes, etc.) though in recent years most of them have been remastered and released.
    I'm open to everything. When you start to criticise the times you live in, your time is over. - Karl Lagerfeld

I'm spoiled and only focus on soundboards. The quality is much better than audience recordings.. I'll look around for some Cure stuff.. you'd be surprised.

I only have what other people have given me. I have some o' Penny giftings. Beyond that, I have a bunch of Springsteen boots.