Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dear Prudence: Advice on coping with stupid people

Default Dear Prudence: Advice on coping with stupid people

dear prudence: Advice on manners and morals.
    Little Miss Can't-Be-Wrong

How can I cope with my stupid co-workers?

Posted Thursday, Oct. 25, 2007, at 6:59 AM ET

Hi Prudence,
    I'm an office manager at a very small company, where I work with three other girls. In short, I am much smarter than my co-workers. When one of them asks a dumb question (i.e., "What's so bad about Fox News?"), I try to be sensitive and explain without making them feel stupid. Sometimes, though, I get very frustrated, and it's difficult to hold my tongue. Yesterday, my co-worker's sister came in to visit and announced shamelessly that she had never heard of Craigslist. After she left, I exclaimed to my other co-workers, "I can't believe she's never heard of Craigslist!" My co-workers defended her, saying they had never heard of Craigslist until they moved to New York City. I find this preposterous. I didn't say anything else because I didn't want to come off as a snob (which is probably how I'm coming off in this e-mail; my apologies). How does one handle working with people like this? I could keep my mouth shut and go with the flow, but it makes me feel dumb when I don't speak up—I feel that if I don't acknowledge their stupidity, then I'm not doing my duty as an informed young woman.
    —Dumbed Down

Dear Dumbed,
    Since you're so knowledgeable, I'll leave it to you to answer the following letter:
    Dear Prudie,