Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree113Likes

Thread: Idris Elba, "too street" to play James Bond?

Default Idris Elba, "too street" to play James Bond?

Anthony Horowitz apologises after calling Idris Elba 'too street' to play James Bond

James Bond author Anthony Horowitz has apologised for his comments about the prospect of Idris Elba being cast as 007, saying he “clumsily” chose the words “too street” to describe the Luther actor.

Horowitz, who spoke to the Mail on Sunday and launched a scathing critique of the recent iterations of the Bond franchise, released the statement on Tuesday saying: “I am mortified to have caused offence.”
    He added: “I’m really sorry my comments about Idris Elba have caused offence. That wasn’t my intention.
    “I was asked in my interview if Idris Elba would make a good James Bond. In the article I expressed the opinion that to my mind Adrian Lester would be a better choice, but I’m a writer not a casting director so what do I know?”
    The author, who has written “continuation” Bond novels, including the latest Trigger Mortis, and said Lester would be a more “suave” Bond, explained his use of the word “street” to describe Elba.

“Clumsily, I chose the word ‘street’ as Elba’s gritty portrayal of DCI John Luther was in my mind but I admit it was a poor choice of word. I am mortified to have caused offence.”
    Many commentators had expressed anger at Horowitz’s choice of words, including the influential American writer Ta-Nehisi Coates, who tweeted: “Just be honest and say ‘James Bond’s being white is important to me’ and be done with it ... Elba is ‘too street’ in much the same way that Obama was ‘too foreign,’ and King was ‘too communist.’”

Horowitz told the Mail that Elba as “a bit too rough to play the part”, adding “It’s not a colour issue. I think he is probably a bit too ‘street’ for Bond.”