Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree53Likes

Thread: Calling all bakers! Need advice

Default Calling all bakers! Need advice

I baked my first two cakes this past week. I'm a good cook but I'm not really into sweets and I'm not great at following recipes to the letters so I've always shied away from baking. I decided to change that and to learn to make at least basic cakes/cookies/etc. And because I'm stubborn and a perfectionist, I will keep at it until I get it right. Or right enough.

My first experiment was with a recipe by Martha Stewart for a cake you can make in a cast iron pan, and top with different fruits. I chose plums and anyway, it was a disaster and ended up in the garbage (flat, and charred on the bottom and sides, barely cooked in the middle). My oven was partly to blame and I've since gotten a thermometer so I can make sure it's at the right temp.

I made the same recipe again a second time but in a glass dish. This time it worked. I tweaked the recipe a bit after looking for other recipes online about amounts of baking soda and baking powder and realised the original recipe didn't have enough baking powder. So this time the cake rose and is actually quite fluffy and delicious, and golden on top. But the main issue is that the bottom, though not burned at all, is quite crispy. How do I avoid this? Do I have to set the dish on a higher rack in the oven (right now it's on the lower third, which is what most websites seem to recommend)? Do I use a different dish? Do I put something between the cake dish and the oven rack?

Totally novice baker here so any tips welcome!
    I'm open to everything. When you start to criticise the times you live in, your time is over. - Karl Lagerfeld

czb

i think a higher rack is a good idea. i usually bake stuff using the middle rack.

and iron is a NO since it will make your cakes dark. instead of glass, you can also try an aluminum cake pan.
    sputnik, twitchy2.0, A*O and 1 others like this.

thanks czb!