Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25

Thread: USB ports broken; what the fuck now?

  1. #16
    La vie en rose DitaPage*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    37,547

    Default

    ^Thanks! Awesome, i didn't know i could just replace the cord. Well hopefully I can.

  2. #17
    Elite Member Chalet's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    13,082

    Default

    I bought a new camera cord at Staples. Make sure you bring the old cord with you so there's no mistaking which pronged cord you need. Some have 3, 4 or 5 prongs.

    Prong is funny word to type 3 times.

  3. #18
    Gold Member Corsair's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    fixed yet??
    Don't worry about what other people think. They don't do it very often.

  4. #19
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    On some PCs you can put the memory card directly into the PC. That's what I do and it avoids all the cables and stuff.

    Am aware not all computers have this, so it's not a solution as such, just a different idea if you have weird, thin looking holes on your PC (normally near USB ports) and you don't know what they are for
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  5. #20
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,483

    Default

    I would suggest wiping as an absolute last resort. If Windows isn't recognizing a device, try reinstalling the drivers first (following the manufacturer's instructions). That will usually fix it.

    As for Windows "gumming up"; it can, but it doesn't have to. Regular maintenance will usually eliminate the need to wipe and start over. I've had the same install of XP running on my desktop's HD since 2004, when I bought a new HD. It runs like a champ.

  6. #21
    Elite Member Grimmlok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    In WhoreLand fucking your MOM
    Posts
    55,372

    Default

    LOL yeah, but what happens when windows won't load the drivers even though it has them? Or won't load them even if you go and get them yourself manually?

    That was my problem. It saw the device, but simply refused to load the drivers for it.
    I am from the American CIA and I have a radio in my head. I am going to kill you.

  7. #22
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,483

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grimmlok View Post
    LOL yeah, but what happens when windows won't load the drivers even though it has them? Or won't load them even if you go and get them yourself manually?

    That was my problem. It saw the device, but simply refused to load the drivers for it.
    Wouldn't know, I've never had that problem.

  8. #23
    La vie en rose DitaPage*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    37,547

    Default

    It was my cord; and easily replaced. thank god for that.

  9. #24
    Gold Member Corsair's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grimmlok View Post
    LOL yeah, but what happens when windows won't load the drivers even though it has them? Or won't load them even if you go and get them yourself manually?

    That was my problem. It saw the device, but simply refused to load the drivers for it.
    ghost drivers from old hardware that are still floating around the system/registry files or conflicting/corrupted drivers. I managed to put in a different brand motherboard in my machine as mine shorted out, even with all the hardware changes I didn't have to reinstall XP. I did have to reactivate it though, bastard Microsoft!
    Don't worry about what other people think. They don't do it very often.

  10. #25
    La vie en rose DitaPage*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    37,547

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Corsair View Post
    fixed yet??
    NO! Its really fucking pissing me off now. It was working before, with the new cord, now it's back to same shit again- this time it's not the cord.
    I did a google search and so many people have had this problem, and none of their solutions worked for me. I emailed Kodak and got a 200 step email back, I haven't got the patience to do everything they asked yet. I'm such a pessimist, I'm already thinking it wont work so why bother. There's literally 200 steps here I'm thinking I'll need a few days to do it all.

    I plugged the camera into another computer and it wont work on that either, so maybe it's just the camera. I HATE COMPUTERS!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. David Copperfield is a sick fuck
    By Cali in forum Latest Gossip
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: November 6th, 2007, 09:47 AM
  2. Mandy Moore says she will never become a 'fuck up'
    By DitaPage* in forum Gossip Archive
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: September 29th, 2007, 08:21 PM
  3. Republican governors oppose Arab control of ports.
    By buttmunch in forum U.S. Politics and Issues
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: February 23rd, 2006, 10:57 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 17th, 2006, 11:55 AM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2005, 08:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •