Login to remove the ads!
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Downloading an application

  1. #1
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default Downloading an application

    Me again ... *sigh*

    I was sent an application to install for my job. My problem ... it won't download. I've tried it on both Firefox and IE. With IE, I get nothing. With Firefox, I get a desktop icon, but it won't open.

    Help.

  2. #2
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    When you download using firefox, do you get the download window? Have you tried installing the application from there or are you saving the file and then opening it to install?

    Can't help with IE as my IE refuses point blank to download anything
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  3. #3
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default

    I get the little download box that has open/remove, if that is what you are referring to. When I click open, nothing happens.

    On the desktop icon, I've clicked open and run as ... nothing happens there either.

    Aaargh.

  4. #4
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Yep, that's the box I was referring to. hmmm

    Okay, it might be worth finding out where it has saved it to on your computer. Firefox always saves to your PC (somewhere, wherever your downloads are set to go to). Do a search in windows explorer for the application name. Try opening the file from there.

    It's worth bearing in mind that some applications take forever to open. It might also be worth checking your task manager and go into processes, and see whether the computer thinks it is currently running the program, and that's why it won't open again. If it is listed in your processes (and only if it is SPECIFICALLY the same name, then you need to press "end process")

    I know this is a public forum so don't want to ask you for too much info, but if possible can you give the link or the application name?
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  5. #5
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default

    I already looked around my files to see if it's listed and I can't find anything. I'll take another look just in case. It's probably lurking somewhere ... I'm not very smart when it comes to computers, unfortunately.

  6. #6
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    If you go into "Tools" "Options" and on the "Main" page. About halfway down it should tell you where it saves everything as default
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  7. #7
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default

    Supposedly, it has been saved to desktop, but it still won't open.

  8. #8
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Does the file on the desktop end in .exe? Or does it have a different ending?

    .exe means that it is an application, any other ending may mean that it is an ordinary file that needs a specific application to open it, and you may not have that application.

    Apologies, but I don't know how much you do or don't know, so I may be asking you stupid questions
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  9. #9
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default

    The file is .exe.

    The application is for the installation of a program that I need to use.

  10. #10
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    - damn then I'm at a loss.

    All I can suggest is trying to download it again, I guess it's possible that it didn't download completely or something.

    Have you googled the application? Is it possible to download it from a different site?
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  11. #11
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default

    I don't think it's possible to get it from another site. It was sent to me with a password. It can't be downloaded without the password.

    Hopefully, if I fiddle with it a bit longer, it will miraculously come to life and I won't have to email for help and look like the incompetent moron that I am. Haha.

    Thanks for trying to help. I appreciate it.

  12. #12
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    No problem, wish I could do more, but it's difficult when you can't actually see it in front of you.

    The only other thing I can suggest is trying to open it with Admin privileges. (not sure whether you can do this on XP) but on Vista if you right click and run as administrator, that might do something
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

  13. #13
    Elite Member aabbcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Watching the sun set over Lake Superior.
    Posts
    18,018

    Default

    In the instructions provided, they said to do that if you're running Vista and you have problems. There was nothing for XP. I guess people with XP don't have problems.

  14. #14
    Silver Member micashell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    348

    Default

    It might be worth googling it to see if other people have had problems opening it. Unless it is a bespoke program that is specific to your employer.

    With Vista there are ALWAYS problems
    "In an underdeveloped country don't drink the water. In a developed country don't breathe the air." - Jonathan Raban.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Downloading from Youtube
    By Morticia in forum Computers and Technology
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: March 27th, 2009, 03:49 AM
  2. Downloading music
    By Blackberry in forum Music and Music Videos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 31st, 2008, 12:22 PM
  3. Downloading pictures from cell phone to pc.... Help!!!
    By viggofan in forum Computers and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 9th, 2008, 07:16 AM
  4. Order of Application for skincare
    By dakodas in forum Beauty and Skincare
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 20th, 2006, 10:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •