Thread: Any blogging experts here?

Default Any blogging experts here?

I bought a domain name, but I just want to have a blog as my website.

I'm not sure what blogs are the best. I have heard of blogger.com and I have heard good things about word press. I have never blogged before. Any advice?

Does anyone know how I can make my blog show up on my homepage (domain)? Is this possible or do I have to use the domain name at the blogging website?

Also, how do I customize the colors and all that? Can I put a picture up as my blog design?

I know there has to be some blogging experts on GR!!!!

TIA!

I'm no expert but I've used word press and I would recommend it.

I'm not that much help.
    If i recall you can decide where on your domain your boog will be during the set up.

There are templates that you can use and if you want you can edit the colors in the template or find one tht you like already (you edit the splash photo the same way).
    He who knows does not speak.
    He who speaks does not know.
    Lao-tzu

pretending to be a lurker but I'm not quiet enough

I'm no expert (if I were, maybe I could make a living off of it ) so I can't help you much. I just think some standard simple html coding would apply even to blogs e.g. fonts, colours, background, adding images, vids etc. All I've ever done is one website so I don't know if blogs are any different.

Blogger.com seems like a better choice to me just cuz it's the kind I see more on the net and is recognizable.

If you think it's crazy, you ain't seen a thing. Just wait until we're goin down in flames.

I like Wordpress.com. It's easy and has quite a few free options. I use it with my students and they seem to like it. The only thing is that if you want to get serious about your blog and use ads etc. and drive traffic to it, you'll have to set up a Wordpress.org blog, and that comes with a minimal cost.