Thread: Tablet vs. iPad vs. PC?

Default Tablet vs. iPad vs. PC?

I'm considering getting my 2 older sons, 12 and 9, a tablet for Christmas. I'm not tech savvy by any stretch of the imagination, so I have a couple of questions.

What's the difference between an Android tablet and a iPad? I'm not going to get my kids an iPad or anything, but I was considering laptops, but the Android tablet is somewhat interesting to me. Especially since it's going to be on sale for Black Friday.

My kids don't do any serious computing, mainly facebook, youtube and online games. Should I get them laptops or would a tablet work for them?

My mom got them Kindles. If I go with the tablet, I'll have her take the Kindles back.
    RELIGION: Treat it like it's your genitalia. Don't show it off in public, and don't shove it down your children's throats.

I have an iPad and the first gen Kindle. To me, the iPad serves the purpose of an e-reader, something to browse the web with, something to play games on, etc. It doesn't really replace my laptop, but it's basically replaced my Kindle. I love it for the things you mentioned. Plus, the iPad has a Kindle app and I can bring all my books over. I don't know the price point of the Android, but the iPad can run you around the cost of a cheap laptop, so if you think they'll need a laptop in a year or two, you may want to look into one now.

I agree with Kris - if you think they might need a laptop soon you may want to find one now instead. There are Kindle reading apps for PC/laptop, Android tablets and iPad - and you don't even have to have a Kindle to take advantage of them.

I love my Kindle but I'm a huge reader and like the e-ink display; if your mom got one of those styles it's not really great for games (mainly a few word games) unless she pre-ordered a Kindle Fire (which is color and is more like a tablet - surfing, apps, etc).