you can also disable it without deleting it entirely. at least until they change the privacy settings - and you know they will, once enough people bitch about them.
i don't like the new settings but i rely on fb to stay in touch with friends and family from all over the world. and there are ways around them - you can make yourself available on the search only to friends. and if you click on the little crayon where your friends are on your profile page, you can change it so that your friends no longer show up on your profile.