Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anais Nin (1903-1977): Her Journals and Mine

Default Anais Nin (1903-1977): Her Journals and Mine

Anaïs Nin(1903-1977) first began publishing expurgated versions of The Diary of Anaïs Nin in 1966, the year I graduated from university. She was 63. The editions of her diaries that began to appear omitted many of the more intimate details of her personal and love life. In 1986 after virtually everybody mentioned in her diaries had died, including Nin herself, her widower began to publish what are now termed the unexpurgated versions of Nin’s diary. These unexpurgated versions of the diaries are more sexually frank than the versions published in the 1960s and 1970s. They also provide a fuller picture of her life. The new material, for example, casts her incestuous relationship with her father and her relationship with writer Henry Miller in new light.

In volume 2 of Nin’s diary, she has just arrived in New York. This volume is filled with the stories of her analytical patients. There is a shift in emphasis in this diary from volume 1 as she becomes aware of the inevitable and complex choices facing the artist in the modern world. Sensitive and frank, this volume of her diary is a dialogue between flesh and spirit, as one reviewer described it. This volume finds this madly scribbling femme fatale trying to get away from her doggedly loyal husband and from adored lover Henry Miller and to indulge her fancy for analyst Otto Rank.