Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Shampoo that promotes hair growth

Default Shampoo that promotes hair growth

My youngest daughter wants to let her hair grow out. It is between her chin and shoulders. She called me at work yesterday and asked if I thought she should buy some shampoo at Sally's to help her hair grow. I told her I didn't really think it would work...I had been told the best thing to help your hair grow is scalp stimulation...
    Thoughts? Anyone ever used such a shampoo? Did it work?
    THE EASIEST WAY OUT IS THROUGH....

You're lucky, because coincidentally, I'm an expert on this.

Most shampoos that promise hair growth are a waste of money.

Scalp stimulation is indeed helpful, which I found surprising. On a trip to Sri Lanka someone told me an old ayuverda secret: massage your scalp with a lotion of some very rich oil (coconut, olive, sheabutter) and freshly ground black pepper. I did that and it was super effective. It makes you're scalp tingle very pleasantly. If possible, leave it in over night. But make sure you don't ruin your sheets.

Another thing that's effective are food supplements. Take lots of zinc and panthenol for about four weeks, you'll see the results quickly. be careful with the zinc though, one shouldn't take too much of that over a longer period of time.

I did both things combined and people actually asked me if I had gotten extensions, because my hair started growing like crazy all of a sudden.

Really? Black pepper? Wow.
    My hair is real short (about an inch $ 1/2 long) and grows like a weed. The stylist says it's because it is so short and my scalp gets stimulated when I wash it...will let her know about the suggestions-thanks
    THE EASIEST WAY OUT IS THROUGH....

Quote Originally Posted by Chilly Willy View Post
    You're lucky, because coincidentally, I'm an expert on this.

Most shampoos that promise hair growth are a waste of money.